Furniture Futures: Future Narrative

The Future of Smart Furniture/Interiors and Mental Health In 15 Years

Furniture Future

15 Years: 2032

The lighting seeps through the lace curtains as I hid under my covers, I hear an echo of sound surrounding my room as I slowly open my eyes. Could this be a dream or is it already a new day? I turn to my side. I glance at Alexa my Smart Bedside table

  • Alexa? What time is it now?
  • 09:30 am, would you like me to schedule your day for you?
  • Yes, could you organise my new reading schedule
  • Your new reading schedule has been created. From observation and monitoring a Reminder is set to buy new paints
  • Thank you, Alexa

Emilys Empathy Map

After Alexa organized my schedule I slowly sat up from my comfortable Ecotypic bed, changing the setting with my smart phone. The OLED lights gradually dim out as the curtains open. The plants cling around the roofs of the bed waiting to be feed. I turn to Alexa and ask her to water the plants via Smart Pot and adjust the lighting in my room to fit me and my plants.

  • “Alexa, Could you turn on a soft ambient light in my room so that I can get up easier?”
  • Ambient Lights are on now Emily, Would you also like to hear some Classical Music or Hear the News?
  • Just Classical Music for now, Thank you Alexa!

The entire room was engulfed with an elegant and delicate hue that changed ever so slightly as time passed the calming classical music helped paint the images and shapes in Emily’s room. Her room was like a contracts between technology and nature. A synthetics bed decorated with plants and flowers. Sleek clean walls and ceils with hints of greenery and seedlings.

  • I should get ready now, I need to finish my paintings…

After dressing up I decided to clean my new painting work space. Then I wanted to change the default setting of my new AI Desk and the setting of my bedroom so that I could work more effectively. I had the choice of manipulating my interior bedroom to become my painting room. My new desk was very organic hovering over the floor using magnetic force. I connected my AI Desk to Alexa so that she could help me with the configurations. I used the touch interface and Alexa to help me search for nature photography as references for my illustrations.

  • Alexa Desk could you look for professional photographs of forests and exotic plants?
  • Web search for photographs containing nature and exotic greenery. Would you like me to select the best images for reference?
  • Thank you Alexa Desk. Yes I would like you to display all the best images around screen.

With all the images around my desk I was able to quickly pencil in the details of the exotic plants and mix the watercolours, I even opened Autodesk Sketchbook pro to test digital watercolours to find the perfect shade.

  • Alexa? Could you turn on my aromatherapy?
  • Yes I will. Which scent would you prefer?
  • A rose and lavender combination would be nice.

preview diffuser light3

 

The doorbell rings, I check my Phone to see who is at the door. It’s an Amazon delivery man holding a small package! My mother quickly answers the door and accepts the package.

  • My new PlayStation VR2 game, I think I’ll take a break from my painting and I’ll test out this game

I walk to the living room and I ask Alexa to dim the lights and adjust the speakers for My PS5, I insert the new game and wear my VR Glasses.

The Name Persona 6 Game was breathtakingly beautiful the graphics look realistic with a cartoony vibe. I was able to fully immerse myself in the game and the story of its characters. The VR2 had very high resolution with 360 field vision I was able to explore the virtual world. The game could link up to my Smart Sofa and add 4D user interface.

3056230-poster-p-1-magic-leap-scores-7935-million-to-science-the-heck-out-of-mixed-reality-lightfield

I found the game very enjoyable however I felt fed up of just staying inside all day. I become anxious…

  • The thought of stepping outside terrifies me… I need to calm down, A-alexa please can you change the lighting and play some ambient music…
  • Understood. I will change the configuration of you. Sofa to Comfort you.

I wonder if my PlaystationVR2 and smart Sofa could be used to treat my anxiety and fear of stepping outside

I glance at the illustrations and the photographs, I took a deep breath and walk towards the front door…

1150849_22097_large

The world outside was very different from the home I become accustomed to over the years, I quickly searched for my smart holo phone in my large pockets – needed to contact my mother. I swiped my holo and used voice recognition to call my mum.

  • Alexa could you call my mother?
  • Yes okay, Contacting Mrs Sinclair
  • Hello? Mum? Are you there?
  • …..Hello Emily? Have you spoken to your doctor today? Make sure you don’t forget
  • Okay Mum, I’ll talk to my doctor soon. Bye bye.

I walk down the street holding my Smart Bag, gingerly moving between people. As I walk ahead I see the streets in front of me are illuminated they looked like digital watercolour paints coming to life.

  • Alexa, could you make another phone call to my doctor?
  • Ok, Contacting Doctor.

I swiped my holo smart phone to except the Doctor’s call and started explaining, my symptoms in words and facial expressions. This helped the Doctor understand the problems I was going through.

  • “Emily, I understand how you are feeling, I think you should explore places that interest you. I think this will help you feel at ease.”

After talking to the Doctor I decided to go and visit the Crystal Botanical Garden, I asked Alexa what the quickest route to the Garden was. She suggested the public transport is very advanced and takes no time. I walk down the immersive digital streets as Alexa guides me towards the station. I paid for my transport ticket using Smart bracelet and take a seat near the front of the train. Luckily the Botanical Garden it’s too far away, I got off at the next stop and walked the Garden.

Green+Dragon+Web+2016

The Botanical Garden was a huge structure that towered over everything, it was a giant frosted glass dome that housed all rare plants and wildlife. As I walk into the dome an assistant android gives me a virtual map showing all the main attractions.

I walk to the largest installation an interactive digital beehive structure designed by an architect. Assistant androids gave me VR glasses so that I could interact with the installation on a more digital and immersive level it was very breathe taking because the garden combined physical plants and flowers and digital atmosphere.

10877

I was able to visit the Amazon Rainforest and the Olympic National Park, they looked as realistic as Peter Lik’s photography. The images and the plants looked very vibrant and full of calming colours, I was inspired to paint more from nature.

  • Alexa? Could you record everything I’m seeing and add it to my video diary?
  • Yes, I will. I will also list the names of the places you visited in the virtual reality space.
  • Thank you, Alexa

Alexa and I continued to explore the Gardens until the end of the day, we even able to see the Northern Lights in vivid detail using holographic projects on the night sky and Virtual reality. This created a truly inspiring and immersive experience that I would never forget.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment